COMMUNITY LEARNING - 2016 Programme

In 2016 London Wildlife Trust & Friends of the River Crane Environment offered a programme of guided walks, community learning activities and workshops led by experts.  This project was been funded by Richmond Civic Pride Awards.

Return to the COMMUNITY LEARNING - 2017 Programme

GUIDED WALKS AND TALKS

The events are free but booking is essential. 
Children are welcome to attend all events but family friendly are highlighted with

Walk and Talk
Date
Time
Location
Birds Sat 7th May 06.00 Shot Tower
Bats Mon 16th May 20.15 Shot Tower
Dementia Friendly Bird Walk Wed 25th May 11.00-12.30 Shot Tower
Family Tree Walk 
Wed 1st June 14.00-16.00 Shot Tower
History of the Gunpowder Mills
with Hounslow History Society
Sun 5th June 14.00-16.00

The Tower Crane Park

Shot Tower

Dragonflies & River Dipping Wed 8th June 16.30-18.00 Shot Tower
Frogs & Pond Dipping Wed 15th June 16.30-18.00 Shot Tower
Trees Thurs 16th June 15.30-17.00 Kneller Gardens Pavilion
River Dipping
in National Rivers Week
Wed 29th June 16.30-18.00 Shot Tower
Fish of the River Crane Thur 30th June 18.00-19.30 Shot Tower
Herbal Walk Sat 2nd July 10.30-15.00 Shot Tower
Butterflies
Butterfly Survey Count
Wed 3rd Aug 11.00-12.30 Mereway Nature Park
River Dipping Tues 16th Aug 14.00-15.30 Shot Tower
Spiders Thur 25th Aug 14.00-16.00 Shot Tower
Mindfulness Walk Sat 3rd Sept 10.00-11.00 Shot Tower
River Invertebrates & Citizen Crane Sat 15th Oct 10.00-12.00 Mill Road / Crane Park
Fungi Walk Wed 19th Oct 10.00-11.30 Shot Tower
Highway Men (& Women) of Hounslow Heath Sat 29th Oct 10.30-12.30 Shot Tower

 

ACTIVITIES AND WORKSHOPS

Come and try your hand at traditional conservation skills and learn from the experts.  The events are free but booking is essential via the link below. 
Events highlighted with are family and child friendly.

Activity
Date
Time
Location
Hedge Laying

Thur 28th 
Jan 3rd Feb
Thur 11th Feb
Wed 17th Feb

Events
complete
Crane Park
River Deflectors
and
Marginal Planting

Wed 20th April
Wed 27th April
Wed 4th May
Wed 11th May

Events
complete

Crane Park

Scything

Wed 20th July
Wed 27th July
Wed 3rd Aug
Wed 10th Aug

Events
complete
Crane Park - Mill Road (Directions)
Print Making

Sat 17th Sept

10.30-13.30 Shot Tower
Print Making

Sat 8th Oct

10.30-13.30 Shot Tower
Willow Weaving
Lanterns & Night Walk

Sat 17th Dec

14.30-18.30 Shot Tower